2018..THE YEAR SO FAR

AWOTTA CHAIRWOMAN ANNOUNCES PIONEERING INITIATIVE TO DRIVE DOMESTIC TOURISM

UWANDAE EXPO2019!

Mary Kalikawe, with the full support of AWOTTA members, Tanzania Woman Chambers of Commerce, Tanzania Tourist Board and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism, has begun planning for the first Tanzania Domestic Tourism Trade Fair to be held in Dar es Salaam 14-17th February 2019.

See: All Africa news

OCTOBER 2018: AWOTTA OPENS NEW OFFICE IN MASAKI, DAR ES SALAAM!

Our new year resolution for 2018 was to open an independent AWOTTA office and in October we did!

When we started AWOTTA 7 years ago, our vision was to have a professionally equipped office, staffed with a dedicated, skilled and committed workforce who can drive our objectives and support our members every day of the year.  We have sought sustainable funding over the years, and shall continue to do so, however, with the support and assistance of members and friends this month we finally reached our goal.

We would like to thank everyone who has been part of this journey so far.

The opening of our new office, will assist us in achieving our mission within the next 3 years

AWOTTA is grateful and thankful to the following members and their companies who have made financial and resource contributions during 2018 to assist us in getting closer to achieving our mission:

Mary Kalikawe – Kiroyera Tours
Agnes Rwegasira -Vera Inter travel
Eunice Nderigo – National college of tourism
Devota Mdachi – Tanzania Tourist Board
Mama Zakia Meghji – past MP and longest serving Minister of Tourism
Scholastica Ponera – Pongo Safaris
Nura Karamagi CEO HAT – Hotel Association of Tanzania
Zainab Ansell – ZARA Tours Tanzania
Laura Minde – Outstanding Solutions

Please contact Mary at mkalikawe@awotta.org if you can offer any further support.

Thank you.

AWOTTA supports United Nations World Tourism Day

DATE: 27th September 2018

THEME: Tourism & Digital Transformation

Join the celebration: #WTD2018

“This year, World Tourism Day highlights the need for investment in disruptive digital technologies that can help foster an environment for innovation and entrepreneurship in tourism.

We live in an increasingly connected and interdependent world with digital advances transforming how we inform ourselves, transforming our behaviour, and encouraging innovation. We need not only new tools but also new capacities and ways of thinking. So across the United Nations family we are designing innovative projects, initiatives and partnerships.

The sheer size of global tourism and its impact on many other sectors, and all of the Sustainable Development Goals, puts it at the forefront of social responsibility, which today goes hand-in-hand with innovation on all levels.

Harnessing innovation and digital advances provides tourism with opportunities to improve inclusiveness, local community empowerment and efficient resource management, amongst other objectives within the wider sustainable development agenda. The digital transformation is about providing benefits to all, and we are making sure that tourism contributes to this global commitment.”

Zurab Pololikashvili is Secretary-General of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

2018

AWOTTA SUPPORTS THE ONE PLANET NETWORK –  SUSTAINABLE TOURISM PROGRAMME

ONE PLANET brings together initiatives and partnerships, facilitates new projects and activities to accelerate the shift to sustainable consumption and production (SCP) in tourism.

AWOTTA meets YouthBuild International

DATE: 7th May 2018

DISCUSSION: Youth Employment

YouthBuild International (YBI) is an organisation based in the USA and currently operates in 22 countries around the world. Their vision is to create viable, sustainable livelihoods for all young people, through training, education, employment and self-employment. They are currently looking at expanding their programme and have been soliciting partners who they can work with in various sectors around the world. AWOTTA stood out as one of the organisations committed to building careers and supporting training programmes for youths within the tourism sector, and a meeting was arranged in Dar es Salaam on 7th May 2018.

Eunice Ulomi and Rhoda Kitila, supported by Marius Mwijage, represented AWOTTA. Discussions included: sharing experiences with YouthBuild to alleviate poverty in communities; community based tourism initiatives; AWOTTA’s program of visiting secondary schools to position tourism as a future career opportunity; and the value of internships and practical experiences for personal development.

The meeting exchange with YBI was very productive and enlightening for both sides and we shall look forward very much to further discussions and working with YBI in the foreseeable future.

For more information about the meeting please contact Mary Kalikawe.

We would like to extend our thanks and gratitude to AWOTTA member Devota Mdachi (MD of the Tanzania Tourist Board) for providing meeting facilities whilst we are equipping our new AWOTTA office.
InternationalWomensDay-logo-small

AWOTTA supports International Women’s Day 8th March 2018 campaign #Press for Progress

A strong call to motivate and unite friends, colleagues and whole communities to think, act and be gender inclusive.

With the World Economic Forum’s 2017 Global Gender Gap Report findings telling us that gender parity is over 200 years away – there has never been a more important time to keep motivated and #PressforProgress. And while we know that gender parity won’t happen overnight, the good news is that across the world women are making positive gains day by day.

CELEBRATING IWD AT SERENA HOTEL DAR ES SALAAM 2018 

About International Women’s Day

International Women’s Day (March 8) is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity.

International Women’s Day (IWD) has been observed since the early 1900’s – a time of great expansion and turbulence in the industrialised world that saw booming population growth and the rise of radical ideologies. International Women’s Day is a collective day of global celebration and a call for gender parity. No one government, NGO, charity, corporation, academic institution, women’s network or media hub is solely responsible for International Women’s Day. Many organisations declare an annual IWD theme that supports their specific agenda or cause, and some of these are adopted more widely with relevance than others.

“The story of women’s struggle for equality belongs to no single feminist nor to any one organisation but to the collective efforts of all who care about human rights,” says world-renowned feminist, journalist and social and political activist Gloria Steinem. Thus International Women’s Day is all about unity, celebration, reflection, advocacy and action – whatever that looks like globally at a local level. But one thing is for sure, International Women’s Day has been occurring for well over a century – and continue’s to grow from strength to strength.

What colours signify international Women’s Day?

Internationally, purple is a colour for symbolising women. Historically the combination of purple, green and white to symbolise women’s equality originated from the Women’s Social and Political Union in the UK in 1908. Purple signifies justice and dignity. Green symbolises hope. White represents purity, but is no longer used due to ‘purity’ being a controversial concept. The introduction of the colour yellow representing a ‘new dawn’ is commonly used to signify a second wave of feminism. Thus purple with green represents traditional feminism, purple with yellow represents progressive contemporary feminism.

25-26th FEBRUARY 2018
 
AWOTTA WAS PROUD TO BE A PARTNER IN THE
WOMEN’S DAY FORUM FOR TOURISM 2018
HELD AT DUNIA CAMP IN THE WORLD RENOWN
SERENGETI NATIONAL PARK

THANK YOU TO ALL THE PARTNERS & DELEGATES FOR MAKING THIS SUCH A WARM, INSIGHTFUL, THOUGHT PROVOKING & DYNAMIC EVENT.

THEME: Changing mindset about the role of women in society and participation in the labour market

The gender gap in employment, economic opportunities, treatment and social outcome continue to be a persistent challenge worldwide and even more so in Africa. In Tanzania, unemployment for women stands at 12.3% in comparison to 8.2% for men, and even worse in cities where it stands at 32% for women and 11% for men. Progress to address this has been slow and even where opportunities have been made more readily available the quality has been wanting. There are several opportunities and quick wins to aid in accelerating the reduction of this gap. The global trend shows at present there is movement to the service sector, away from agricultural sector where still a majority of women in sub-Saharan Africa are engaged in. In 2015, 50.1% of the global population was working in the service sector, 57.4% of which were women. Though this figure seems encouraging at first glance, it conceals the fact that the larger portion of women’s participation is still in lower levels, while participation in managerial and technical levels remains very low – the most recent statistics showing women in these positions at 17%.

In Tanzania, the tourism industry is the 2nd largest service sector and has enormous potential to easily employ and empower women, even in positions that have traditionally been considered for men.

This women’s day forum sought to ‘push for progress‘ for women in Tanzania, by understanding what the persistent barriers are that inhibit women from fully taking advantage of the opportunities available, and limit their rise to authoritative, decision-making, managerial positions.

Our discussions focused on how we can build on the current momentum for gender parity and promote, encourage and nurture it across our tourism industry.

2018 NEW YEAR MESSAGE FROM OUR CHAIRWOMAN, MARY KALIKAWE

AWOTTA is very proud of its achievements. It is recognised by the Government, the media and industry professionals not only in Africa, but around the world, as the voice of women in the tourism industry for Tanzania.

There is so much work we have done in the past 7 years: holding members meetings to strengthen our network; celebrating World Tourism Day in Zanzibar; training Goeth institute students to guide German tourists; participating in the University of Dar es Salaam business school career development programs; visiting schools to inspire our children to work in our industry; spearheading the formation of Tanzania services sector platform in partnership with TPSF; fundraising meetings at Alliance Francaise; supporting TWCC to celebrate World Women’s Day and so much more!

Today, we have organisations and people approaching us to seek partnerships! Swedish NGO ‘ My Sustainable trip’, wants to work with AWOTTA  to get some marginalised women to make soaps and cosmetic products using local materials to sell into hotels and other tourist outlets; Unitera of Canada has approached us for a similar partnership; And the book which I was asked to write a forward for, ‘The World of Women Tanzania’ (which tells wonderful stories of the diversity of our women and their entrepreneurial traits) is still being actively distributed across Europe and Africa.

We are committed to do more in the coming years by expanding the membership base, offering mentoring support, business knowledge, and personal development opportunities. We will work to be visible in conservation of our tourist attractions and support of sustainable practices. And we will continue to strengthen networks with like minded individuals and organisations, with the aim of creating opportunities in the tourism industry for not only our members, but the women and children of Tanzania.

We couldn’t do any of this without your support. So thank you for your continued hard work, passion and commitment throughout 2018.

AWOTTA AFFILIATIONS & MEMBER COMPANIES